Homecoming 2016 Schedule of Events

Posted on Monday, October 5th, 2015 by Ashley Hill under Campus Events.

Featured Student Events:

Wednesday, October 19
12:00pm – Homecoming Kickoff, Moran Commons
7:00pm – King & Queen Contest, EUC Auditorium

Thursday, October 20
8:00pm – Spartan Madness featuring Nick Cannon Presents Wild’N Out, Fleming Gym (doors open at 7:00pm)

Friday, October 21
5:00pm – Women’s Volleyball vs. Wofford, Fleming Gym
7:00pm – Bonfire and Food Truck Rodeo, Kaplan Commons
10:00pm – Student Concert featuring CardiKnox, Luke Christopher and special guest, DJ Weatherman, Cone Ballroom (doors open at 9:00pm)

Saturday, October 22
9:00am – Homecoming 5K, Pedestrian Underpass
4:30pm – Homecoming Parade, Kaplan Commons
5:00pm – Homecoming Student Day Party, Moran Commons Fountain
7:30pm – Men’s Soccer vs. Wofford and Fireworks, Soccer Stadium
8:30pm – Homecoming King & Queen Coronation, Soccer Stadium

Sunday, October 23
2:00pm – Women’s Soccer vs. Chattanooga, Soccer Stadium

Visit http://homecoming.uncg.edu for the complete schedule including alumni and athletic events!

2016 Homecoming Royal Court

Posted on Monday, October 5th, 2015 by Ashley Hill under Campus Events.



Congratulations to this year’s Homecoming Royal Court! Our four King and four Queen candidates were chosen from an interview panel and will go on to compete in the King and Queen Contest during Homecoming Week. Candidates will campaign over the next couple of weeks – make sure to come out on Wednesday, October 14 at 7:00pm for our contest where YOU get to pick your choice following talent, attire, and question/answer competitions! More information can be found at homecoming.uncg.edu.

andre-whiteAndre White Senior Communications Studies
Sponsoring Group:  Pi Zeta Chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity Inc.
darius-bennetDarius Bennett
Sponsoring Group:  Pi Kappa Phi
Karl Kassel
Communications Studies
Sponsoring Group:  Lambda Chi Alpha Fraternity
Santiago Gonzalez
Parks and Recreation, concentrating in Recreational Therapy
Sponsoring Group:  Office of Leadership and Service Learning
Courtney Moore
Communications Studies
Sponsoring Group:  Girls Reaching Out
Tiaira Moragne
Communications Studies
Sponsoring Group: Neo-Black Society
 Toni Kenion
Public Health
Sponsoring Group:  The Nu Rho Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.
Dale Hacker
Business Administration
Group:  Sigma Sigma Sigma Sorority
 Taylour Johnson
Sponsoring Group:  Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc.
Tara Reeese
Sponsoring Group:  Elliott University Center

Read More

2016 Homecoming King & Queen Contest

Posted on Tuesday, September 8th, 2015 by Ashley Hill under Campus Events.
Caleb Cuthbertson & Brooke Yates
2015 Homecoming King & Queen
All UNC-Greensboro students are encouraged to participate in the Homecoming King & Queen Contest. Candidates compete annually for this honor, which recognizes two UNCG students for their participation in campus life and their promotion of school spirit. The Homecoming King & Queen also represent the University at major events and on special occasions, and are among UNC-Greensboro’s most prominent student leaders. Winners will be required to plan and implement one major community service event during the 16-17 academic year. The selected King & Queen will be announced at Half-Time during the Homecoming Soccer Game on Saturday, October 22, 2016.

Eligibility Requirements: All candidates must:

  • Be enrolled at the University for the 2016-2017 academic year.
  • Have attended the University for at least one semester.
  • Have a minimum cumulative grade point average of 2.5
  • Be in good disciplinary standing with the University.
  • Must be sponsored by a recognized student group, residence hall, or other University sanctioned involvement opportunity.
  • Must be at Junior status or above.

The Application includes an essay in response to the following questions:

  • Essay Question #1: Why should you be selected as Homecoming King or Queen?
  • Essay Question #2: If you are crowned Homecoming King or Queen, what idea or ideas do you have for the required community service project?
    *Responses are to be typed, double-spaced and are not to exceed three pages (not including the cover page). Applicants also must include a listing of their on-campus co-curricular activities, including leadership, volunteer, and community service experiences. Resumes are gladly accepted, if available.


A panel of judges will interview all the candidates and review all eligible application packets and choose finalists. The interviews will take place the week of September 26, 2016. Finalists will then participate in an evening of creative expressions and questions and answers on Wednesday, October 19, 2016 at 7pm in the EUC Auditorium.  The King and Queen will be judged in the areas of communication skills, leadership experience, campus involvement, interpersonal skills, creative explosion, and overall presentation.


Friday, September 23, 2016 @ 11:59 PM


2016 Excellence Awards Banquet Winners

Posted on Tuesday, April 21st, 2015 by Emily McKenzie under Campus Events. Tags: , ,

Congratulations to all of our 2016 Excellence Banquet Winners!

Office of Multicultural Affairs Humanitarian Award – Society of Hispanic Professional Engineers (SPHE-UNCG)

Office of Leadership and Service-Learning Peer Leadership Educator of the Year – Briona Rivers

Elliott University Center Student Employee of the Year – Antonio “Tone” Roberson

New Student & Spartan Family Programs PFAC Scholarship – Karen Boger and Tia Blaze Jarrell

2015-2016 Student Groups of Excellence – Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., Chi Upsilon Sigma, Neo Black Society, and UNCGGreen

Campus Activities & Programs

Emerging Student Leader – Matthew Kerr
Outstanding Student Leader – Regina Da Silva
Outstanding Student Group Advisor – Pierre Campbell, Chi Upsilon Sigma
Excellence in Innovation – Mystique Modeling Troupe
Excellence in Advocacy – Chi Upsilon Sigma
Excellence in Community Service – Society of Hispanic Professional Engineers (SPHE-UNCG)
Outstanding New Student Group – Percussion Club
Spartan Leadership Awards – Alexa Florencio-Picazo, Amik Chowdhury, Antonio Roberson, Brittany Archie, Caleb Cuthbertson, Danielle Teah, Elisven Saavedra, Kelsey Dorrill, Leslie Locklear, Tiffany Boley

Division of Student Affairs

Phillips-McCracken – Morgan Whisnant
Georgia Cooper Moore Service Award – Karen Boger, Sydney Cunningham, Elaina Gasparino, Tia Blaze Jarrell, Frederick Serrano Jimenez
James H. Allen Student Leader Scholarship – Anna Poteat, Elaina Gasparino
Pamela A. Wilson Memorial Scholarship –  Tiaira Moragne
Mary Lib Manning Slate – Antonio Southern
Gladys Strawn Bullard Award – Tiffany Boley